DEADLINE: Sony’s Tom Rothman To Receive PGA’s Milestone Award


The Producers Guild of America will bestow its prestigious 2017 Milestone Award to Sony Pictures Entertainment Motion Picture Group chairman Tom Rothman at their 28th PGA Awards ceremony on Jan. 28 in Los Angeles.

The Milestone Award recognizes an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry, and during Rothman’s 30-year film career, 400-plus titles under his purview earned more than $50 billion at the global B.O., 150-plus Oscar nominations along with four Oscar wins. Previous recipients of the Milestone Award include Clint Eastwood, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Steven Spielberg, Sherry Lansing, Ron Meyer, Bob & Harvey Weinstein, Alan Horn, Bob Iger, and 2016 recipient Jim Gianopulos, among others. Rothman joined Sony in 2013 as Chairman of TriStar Productions after spending a near two decades at Fox where he served as chairman of filmed entertainment from 2000-2012. Many of those years set profit records. In 1994, Rothman founded Fox Searchlight Pictures after serving as president of worldwide production for the Samuel Goldwyn Company, and EVP of Columbia Pictures.